Soldiers Angel Peggy McKay receives Award

June 6, 2009 at 5:18 am | Posted in General Troop Support | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Congratulations Peggy!  Here is Peggy’s reply back to  Major Geishaker who submitted her name for this award.  Thank you Peggy for sharing this with us!

YES I CRIED!!!
Here is my thank you to Major Geishaker
Dear Jim,
Well it is June 2nd so who knows where you are… transitioning somewhere between Afganastan and Kuwait and on to Germany by now I would think. Which is why I used both your emails. I hope you were there for the last package but if not I tried to address it so that it would not be rejected.
I received the Certificate of Appreciation from the Freedom Team in this mornings mail and the tears just flowed. In fact I am still having trouble keeping them contained, as I am an extremely emotional and passionate woman. (My husband will attest to that one 🙂
I thank you so much for your thoughtfulness and I will treasure it forever. To be sure it will be framed and on my wall here in my office. I will wear the pin with honor and pride.
I am so proud of all of you who lay your lives on the line for us here at home on a daily basis and appreciate all that you stand for and all that you do. I hope to instill those very standards in my Grandchildren as we raise them up. They have been a part of each and every package we send and have been included in and on many of the post cards over this past year and a half of my involvement with SA. We submitted many personal family members photos both for theveterans day slide show at school and for the slide show at the Vets dinner. So they know the importance of all our military stands for.
My involvement with SA spilled over into our school through a science project and special veterans assembly and into our community as I reached out to our Veterans here at home through the wonderful undertaking of Bob Rawe and the Take a Vet to Lunch Program. I encourage people and tell them about SA outreach everywhere I go in hopes that at least one person I touch will adopt a soldier. I even share at the checkstand when I am buying the “goodies” about why and where they are going!
The Move America Forward program was another heartfelt and overwhelming event with a response from within our communities that went far beyond what they could have ever believed. There are many of us here at home that think of our men and woman serving our country daily and send up our prayers.
I pray all is well and safe with you and will most certainly still email and write when your back from the war torn territories.
Thank You Again
Peggy

army letter. certificate0001

army letter. certificate0002

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

